Fountain of the Four Rivers (1648-51) by Gianlorenzo Bernini

Fountain of the Four Rivers - Gian Lorenzo Bernini - 1648-51

Artwork Information

TitleFountain of the Four Rivers
ArtistGian Lorenzo Bernini
MediumMarble and travertine
Current LocationPiazza Navona, Rome

About Fountain of the Four Rivers

The Fountain of the Four Rivers is a masterpiece of sculpture created by Gianlorenzo Bernini in Rome’s Piazza Navona from 1648 to 1651. The fountain’s design depicts four gods in the form of massive sculptures representing the Nile, Ganges, Danube, and Rio de la Plata rivers, each symbolizing one of the four continents. The fountain is situated in front of the church of Sant’Agnese in Agone, a famous work of Borromini.

Bernini’s sculpture is a stunning example of the Baroque style and stands as one of the most renowned sculptures in history. The fountain contains various plants and animals representing each god’s respective country. The Fountain of the Four Rivers shows Bernini’s genius engineering skills, capturing the lithe positions of the figures, and depicting not only a sense of dynamic energy but also of interpretation.

Other Artwork from Gian Lorenzo Bernini

More Artwork from Artchive

Scroll to Top